Grand Blog Tour Adventure ~ A Hole in the Ice by McCallum J. Morgan

blogtourmeme Publisher: Little Bird Publishing http://www.thelittlebirdbookstore.com

Author’s website: http://www.mccallumjmorgan.weebly.com

TWITTER HANDLE

@McCallumJMorgan

FACEBOOK PAGE

https://www.facebook.com/mccallumjmorgan?fref=photo

Amazon.com link

http://www.amazon.com/Hole-The-Ice-Book-One-ebook/dp/B00N30ASHY

Amazon.co.uk link

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Hole-Ice-Book-One-ebook/dp/B00N30ASHY

 photo v5_zps00b815f8.jpg

BLURB

Parsifal is a young man with an incredible secret – only, he isn’t quite sure what that secret is. All he does know is that it is something to do with a mysterious object that looks like a compass, but behaves like something from a different Realm.

As he sets off on a rich and decadent adventure across Europe with his eccentric, explorer uncle, Parsifal comes to learn one more thing about the mysterious object – there are people prepared to kill him to get their hands on it.

Accompanying on their epic quest for a mythical city inhabited by mermaids, is the bewitching Lady Vasille, unlike any woman, Parsifal has ever come across. Eloquent, beautiful and pistol toting, the Lady Vasille casts a spell over Parsifal that is both enchanting and destructive.

The question is, who can you really trust when the real world starts to slide into a fairytale?

A high epic Edwardian fantasy adventure, including Mermaids and other supernatural and fantasy creatures.

AUTHOR BIOGRAPHY.

As a child, McCallum always wanted to write a book. He scribbled in notebooks, drew pictures, and lived largely in a world of make-believe. Into this fertile field a seed was planted. Notebooks began to fill and they didn’t stop. It was a soaring waltz with words among the silvery clouds and he loved it. He was thirteen.

McCallum discovered the Institute of Children’s Literature and enrolled in their writing course, Writing for Children and Teenagers. For their second, advanced, course, he rewrote those bursting notebooks. Now McCallum is eighteen and working on the sequel, and enjoying every minute of it knowing that finally, it’s real. It’s not just a pile of notebooks anymore, it’s ‘A Hole in the Ice.’

McCallum still draws and occasionally attacks an unfortunate piece of fabric with a sewing machine. He may be spotted around his home town of Bonners Ferry, Idaho, sporting his collection of bizarre clothing items, singing ‘The Phantom of the Opera’ in French, or at the bakery near his home, drinking a caramel macchiato. His day job is log home finishing. He lives with his parents in a house perched on the hillside twenty miles south of the Canadian border and takes his tea with milk and sugar in a cup and saucer.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Interview with McCallum: 

What makes you laugh?

Hmm, Lewis Carroll, old horror films, my friends, life…pretty much everything and anything.

When in your life have you had a “now or never” moment?

Maybe when I signed up for the Institute of Children’s Literature course. Or when I took the plunge and bought plane tickets to see my buddy in New Jersey.

If you had your own TV network what would you put on it?

Probably weird stuff. I’d run obscure old movies, particularly horror from the sixties and seventies and also silent films. I’d also have bizarre ballet productions and maybe some low budget films of my comedy play scripts (I’ve done a parody “M.J.M.’s Dracula” and I’m working on “M.J.M.’s Frankenstein or the Civilized Modern Society Prometheus”).

What grown-up job did you want to have when you were a child?

When I was little I wanted to be a train driver. I wanted to be a symphony conductor once and there was a time I really wanted a violin. Then it was author 😉

If you had an extra room in your house what would you use it for?

A library/office/studio/tearoom. Ideally, we’re talking floor to ceiling bookshelves, a massive carved desk, easels and drafting tables, a tea table with wingback chairs, and a big wall of windows that opens onto a patio with a fountain. Ideally.

What band would you camp out all night to get tickets to see?

MUSE

What creeps you out?

I have always been a germ-a-phobe. Dirty stuff and disease creeps me out pretty good. So I don’t like zombie movies. As far as I’m concerned if one of those things so much as touches the same blade of grass as you, you’re done for. Slimy stuff, too and I don’t like spiders.

What is the best costume you have worn?

The Mad Hatter, which I wore to my youth group’s ‘dress-up’ supper. The trousers and waistcoat I had made for a Sweeney Todd outfit, but I paired it with my purple Joker blazer (that I also made) and had my brother make a top hat with the same purple fabric (my brother is a wizard with cereal boxes). I had one good white glove and one fingerless white glove and my hair was colored orange. The thimble wasn’t a good idea. My finger turned purple.

What TV show are you embarrassed about watching?

Disney shows like Jessie and Shake It Up. Oh, and a little Dancing with the Stars. Wait, the color just drained from my face, I’ve seen some Family Guy, too.

Who taught you to drive?

A driving instructor who looked (and behaved) rather like an angry gnome.

What movie inspires you?

In what way? The 1985 Legend is stunning visually and aurally, I don’t know that I feel particularly emotionally or spiritually inspired by it. It’s always stirred my imagination, though.

What poem do you have committed to memory?

“Jabberwocky” by Lewis Carroll

If you could have a room full of any one thing, what would it be?

Books!

What is one of your favorite quotes?

I have Annie Dillard’s words “The sensation of writing a book is the sensation of spinning, blinded by love and daring.” from THE WRITING LIFE pinned to my bulletin board.

Are you a good public speaker?

If my speech is memorized I do alright, I guess. I don’t speak loud enough, I’m really timid around people. I guess there are microphones, but the homeschool group I did speech class with didn’t use one. But overall because I’m so shy (or whatever is wrong with me) I’d say no, I’m not a good public speaker.

What’s your favorite zoo animal?

I’ve always liked tigers.

Leave a Reply

