Baby Troll Review~The Toothless Tooth Fairy~Shanelle Hicks

21971613

Synopsisfairy

 

Bella had it all. The hair, the dress, and the smile. One day, her most important asset was missing…her tooth! Will Bella find the perfect tooth in time for the contest? Will Zelda, the meanest of the fairies, destroy Bella’s chances of winning the crown? Take a journey onto Cloud Nine as Bella searches for a new tooth only to discover the tooth…I mean truth…behind her true beauty.

navAmazonLogoFooter._V169459313_

ReviewFairy

I was given the paperback of this book for review by the author. I loved this book so much I have read it over and over again already.  This book is about tooth fairies that are competing in a smile contest, when Bella the main character loses what is most important to a tooth fairy her tooth!

I really liked this book because it showed you that it isn’t what is on the outside that matters it is what is on the inside that is true beauty. One of the things I like about reading is that I get to feel different emotions as the characters feel them, and this book just made me feel good. After I was done reading it over and over again, I passed it along to my best friend who has read it a couple times now as well. This is one of our favorite books!

I gave this book 5 fairy wands!

wands

After I was finished reading the book I asked my mom if I could send some questions to Ms. Hicks to answer. I sent them and Ms. Hicks was nice enough to answer them so they are included below!

THANK YOU Ms. Hicks!

1.) Ms. Hicks what inspired you to write the book?

The Toothless Tooth Fairy came to me in a dream! I know it sounds so cliché, but it’s so true. I went to the dentist to have a molar pulled out and was so worried about what I was going to look like with a missing molar. My husband laughed at my paranoia as always. I had a dream about fairies chasing me with pliers because they were after my tooth for reasons unknown. One of the fairies in my dream told me it doesn’t matter if they take your tooth because it doesn’t change who you are.

I want both children and adults to see the messages of kindness, forgiveness, and inner beauty in The Toothless Tooth Fairy.

2.) Have you ever been in a beauty pageant?

I have never been in a beauty pageant. I am not a fan of the overly made up little girls in pageants. I think it sends out the wrong message. There is nothing wrong with healthy competition, but little girls are beautiful as is. No alterations needed. I specifically used “smile contest” instead of “beauty” in the book because I thought it fit the tooth fairy theme quite well.

3.) Have you always wanted to be a writer?

I’ve always been a writer, but I would have never guessed I would actually publish a book. I never thought that would be a possibility. I sometimes write just to write. My initial focus is to put all thoughts on paper. They may not make sense. They may seem silly. They may seem irrelevant. They may be unorganized. I just get them from my head to paper, yes old fashioned paper, and worry about the rest later!

I believe I was born to write. I initially believed I was going to write poetry. I love soliloquies. I was then introduced to Langston Hughes’ poetry and fell in love. I’m such a fan that my husband and I named our daughter, Langston.

I write because it’s my passion. I write because it’s what I’m supposed to do. I write kids books because I know kids want to read books with characters that look like them. I know I certainly did as a kid. I recall falling in love with bright illustrations, quirky characters, and intriguing text without being able to see myself in those books. I want to change that. This is a time for diversity in our kid’s books.

 4.) What is the best advice anyone has ever given you?

Someone once told me “Hope is not a strategy.” This means you can’t just sit back and rely on something working out on its own. If you want it to work, you have to do something to make it happen!

5.) What was your favorite subject in school?

My favorite subjects were both Math and English. There was more freedom in English because I could write my way out of anything!

Leave a Reply

